Night Shade – Star Friends Series – Book Review

Star Friends: Night Shade is the latest book in the Star Friends Series which Eva was sent to review. Written by Linda Chapman & published by Stripes, this book is aimed at children aged 7-9 years. You can buy a paperback copy for £5.99. 

Night Shade - Star Friends Series

Star Friends Series

In this magical series, Maia and her friends meet the Star Animals! When they do, a whole world of magical adventure unfolds right before their very eyes! This fantastic series features four best friends for readers to identify with. Join Maia and her friends as they fae realistic friendship issues with their adorable animal familiars. An engrossing world of magic and fantasy for young, inspired, animal-loving readers!

The Star friends series is ideal for fans of My Secret Unicorn, The Rescue Princesses and Rainbow Magic readers looking for a more challenging adventure! 

Night Shade

Star Friends: Night Shade is the fifth book in the Star Friends series by the best-selling author Linda Chapman. Beautifully Illustrated by Lucy Flemming, this magical story is a fantastic read. 

Ever since Maia and her friends stopped Auntie Mabel from using dark magic to cause trouble in their small seaside village of Westcombe, life has been peaceful for the girls and their Star Animals. The latest threat shows the peace was only temporary though! All the adults have started behaving rather oddly. The girls will have to use all their Star Magic skills against these forces of dark magic! Can they defeat the dark magic?

Eva’s Thoughts

I love the Star Friends series! It is so cool and they have really cute animal friends. My favourite part was reading whether or not Maia and her friends could defeat the shades! It’s an action-packed, thrilling read and I can’t wait until the sixth book! Magical stories like this are really fun to read.

Love books like this? Check out our other Book Reviews to discover more fab titles!

Invasion Of The Giant Nits – Pet Defenders Series

Eva read the Pet Defenders Series new book – Invasion of the giant nits this week. Written by Gareth P. Jones and illustrated by Steve May this book is available in paperback for £5.99. Published by Stripes, this series is great for children aged 6-8.

Pet Defenders Series

Pet Defenders Series

The Invasion of The Giant Nits is part of Pet Defenders, a hilarious and fast-paced series. Pet Defenders reveals what our pets get up to when we aren’t there: Saving the world! We might think our pets are sleeping soundly when we are out but instead they are defending the planet from aliens. Centre on the unusual, yet highly successful partnership between a cat and dog. Two unlikely allies who must work together for the god of man and pet-kind alike!

Invasion Of The Giant Nits

Invasion Of The Giant Nits

Biskit and Mitzy are confronted by a large alien spider in their latest adventure! The alien spider plans to destroy the planet and she has an army of nits which she can enlarge with a blast from her own invention, the Relativisor! She can also shrink things using her Relativisor, such as Mitzy! Mitzy ends up the size of a louse, clinging to Biskit’s head! Can the Pet Defenders stop the nits ripping Earth apart? 

Eva’s Thoughts

This series follows Mitzy & Bizkit’s adventure to stop Anna scratch, a large alien spider from destroying the planet! Anna Scratch used to work for the SUPA Agents but she turned bad. My favourite part of this book is when Mitzy is shrunk by Anna Scratch and is in Bizkit’s ear! I really enjoyed reading this book and can’t wait to discover more of the Pet Defenders series, it’s really fun!

Looking for more book recommendations? Head over to our Book Reviews page and check out other books we’ve enjoyed!

Shine: Chloe Centre Stage – Book Review

Eva read SHINE: Chloe Centre Stage this week, thanks to Stripes who kindly sent her a copy to review. Written by Holly Webb and illustrated by Monique Done, this is the first book in the series. Shine introduces children to stage and friendship dramas, perfect for 6-8-year-olds. Available on Amazon for £5.99.

Shine: Chloe Centre Stage

Shine: Chloe Centre Stage

Chloe loves to dance and passes the audition for the Shine school for performing arts! Shine is a full-time stage school many children dream of getting in to, yet it’s only the first challenge for Chloe! She’ll be taking classes in dance and drama every day. Surrounded by people as passionate as she is, it’s much harder to stand out at Shine compared to her old school where the talented and extroverted Chloe was the star.

Whilst the other girls in Chloe’s year at Shine school seem nice, she finds it trickier to make friends than she expected. Chloe starts mucking around in class and finds herself the centre of attention for all the wrong reasons. After a prank she pulls goes wrong there are rumours she may be expelled! Chloe has to try and turn things around before it’s too late!

Eva really enjoyed reading Chloe Centre Stage and is really keen to read more of the series. Immediately hooked she read the entire book in one sitting! 

Eva’s Thoughts

I really enjoyed this book and hope to read more of the series and find out more about Chloe at Shine stage school. A performing arts school sounds really cool, everyone wants to go to Shine.

Chloe starts playing pranks and people start to like her. It all goes wrong when Chloe does a prank by accident! This part was really entertaining and made me laugh. I can’t wait to read the next book and see what she gets up to next.

Do you have a performing arts fan who would love a series like this too? 

St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Gremlins And Pesky Guests

St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Gremlins And Pesky Guests was kindly sent to Eva to read and review. This is the fourth book in the series, written by Karen McCombie, illustrated by Becka Moor & published by Stripes, an imprint of the Little Tiger Group. This hilarious series follows Dani and her entertaining adventures at St Grizzle’s.

 

St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Gremlins And Pesky Guests


You might also be interested in St Grizzle’s School for Girls, Gremlins and Pesky Guests

A flood closes the village school so Dani’s fun & quirky headteacher Lulu invites the staff and pupils to join them at St Grizzle’s school. Dani & her friends can’t believe it, they bump into sneery Spencer and his annoying friends in the village enough as it is! Now, they will have to share lessons with them too, what could be worse?


Inside page of You might also be interested in St Grizzle’s School for Girls, Gremlins and Pesky Guests

It doesn’t take long for pupils to clash, there are constant pranks and even the teachers aren’t getting on! To top it all, St Grizzle’s school show rehearsals are underway and it’s turning into a disaster!

Eva’s Thoughts

The story is about Dani and her friends having to share St Grizzle’s School For Girls with the  Twittering primary school children. The Twittering primary school children try to make the school more sensible. My favourite part is when they were at Twittering primary school for their school fair. It is a really funny book with lots of silly pranks!

Twittering primary school fair

St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Gremlins And Pesky Guests is available on Amazon for £5.99. You can also find it in Waterstones and WHSmith.

If you haven’t read any of the St Grizzles series before you can read our previous reviews here:

St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Goats And Random boys – Book Review, St Grizzles School For Girls, Ghosts And Runaway Grannies, and St Grizzle’s School For Girls, Geeks And Tag-Along Zombies.

We love this series and think it’s a great book for children aged 7-9 years like Eva, who really enjoys quirky, funny story lines.

Do you know someone who would love to read this too?